I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

Have you ever had one of those moments when something just whacks you right between the eyes?  Something so completely out of the blue, so utterly unexpected that you thought, “How did I get hit by a curve-ball?    I didn’t even know I was playing!”

Sometimes, those surprises can be great.  Awesome really.  Like finding out you won an award that you weren’t expecting.  Or getting a job offer for a position for which you never applied.

Other times, it really feels like you got hit between the eyes with a curve-ball.  It hurts.  It’s bewildering.  You’re skipping along on the sidewalk of life and then….WHAM….you’re laid out on the concrete seeing little cartoon birds circling your head.

Then, all you can think is, “Where did THAT come from??”

Uh-Oh.

Now what?  How do I handle that?  Do I ask for clarification?  Nope.  Don’t want to do that.  One hit was enough.  It was bad enough learning I was playing baseball when I got hit by that curve-ball.  I have no desire to find out I’m really in a boxing ring and it’s only Round 1.

Do I even publish this and risk questions being asked?  Yep.  After all, that’s why I write this, to be cathartic; to (hopefully) answer some questions on my own; to get rid of the negative feelings; to work through some issues.  If I can’t do that, then there isn’t any point in writing.  Writing always helps.  Well, usually.  I’m not sure about this time.  I may obsess a little longer.  Okay, a lot longer.

I can always answer vaguely.  After all, the pitcher of this curve-ball has no idea of the concussion I now have.

So let me give you a piece of advice……..try to always wear your batting helmets.  You never know when you’re going to need it.

Comments on: "How Did I Get Hit by a Curve-ball?…….I Didn’t Know I Was Even Playing!" (2)

  1. You are a good writer, this is a great expression of your experiences. So sorry that somethings hittinf you hard. My life kind of seems to go this way too. I’m glad that writing is a useful tool for you!

Leave a Reply

www.awriterweavesatale.com/

Author, and Editor of Literary and Arts Magazine, The Woven Tale Press

Questionable Parenting

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

Curiously Strange, Strangely Curious

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

Caffeinated Me

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

Love on Life and Love

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

What have I Done?

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

A Mummy Scorned

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

thesinglecell

That one little thought that catches on... and multiplies.

Daughter, Wife, Mother, . . . Woman

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

