I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

Have you ever noticed how some words have 15 different words for them, and others only have 1!  For instance, the color blue.  There is blue, sky blue, teal, turquoise, navy, midnight, true blue, aqua, indigo, electric  blue, ice blue….you get the picture.  But you only have 2 words for someone you know:  acquaintance and friend.

Well, guess what?  That isn’t enough.  I have acquaintances, and I have friends.  I also have SO much more…and less.  There are people I’ve met whose names I can’t remember (horrible memory!).  There are people I’ve met several times (and know their names!!!), but I am not close to them.  There are people I work with that I call friends with whom I share the minutia of my life (i.e. my husband made me mad; I’m going to strangle my children; my husband is the best fellow on earth; my children are brilliant).  There are people I am close to that know most of my life story.

Then there is my husband.  He knows EVERYTHING.  Well, almost everything.

But there is where the English language fails.  Epically.

Best friend?  Seems a little…….I don’t know…..grasping?  Seriously, red can be Scarlet or Crimson or Maroon, but Friend only has itself or the word Best in front of it?  For a language with a minimum of 5 synonyms of ANY word this seems a little insufficient.  Or maybe that is just me.

My husband is my friend.  I can talk to him about ALMOST anything.  Yes, I said “almost.”  And for you folks whining condescendingly that “you should be able to talk to your husband about ANYthing!” I ask you.  Who am I suppose to complain to ABOUT him?  Seriously!  I’m supposed to be able to talk to my “best” friend about anything.  If I can’t complain ABOUT him TO him, then he isn’t my best friend.  Or he’s schizophrenic, in which case….well, that is just a setup to so many bad jokes that offend even me that I’ll be quiet.

I love my husband.  He is my almost-best friend.  He is (cliched as it sounds) my other half, my soulmate.  As Demi Moore put it in her one bad movie (The Butcher’s Wife *cough*) my “split-apart”.  Now that I have him, I don’t know how I ever did without him.  Not to say I don’t fantasize about strangling him on occasion as I’m sure all wives do.

Friend?  How do you describe that?  There are so many different levels of friendship.  There isn’t just acquaintances and friends.  There are people you know that you would never DREAM of inviting to your house.  There are people you know that you would love to know better but with whom you just can’t seem to align schedules.  There are people you know too well and would love to see less.  There are people you know so well you never want to see them again (exes fit in this category!).  There are people you see that you love more than life itself but need a break from occasionally (such as spouses).  I could go on and on (and on and on….) but I’m sure you’re bored now.

Seriously, have you ever thought how picky the English language is in some respects only to think another time how there isn’t a word to express what you’re thinking or feeling?  Am I alone in this?

Or maybe it IS just me.  I’ve had 3 real friends in my life — people that lasted through time, that I could and still feel I could call at any time and they would be there.  One I married.  Sorta took him out of the equation since I can’t call him anymore to B—- about my husband.  🙂  The other 2….well, we aren’t as closed anymore.  Time and Distance do effect relationships.

I love my husband.  He IS my friend.  He is my BEST friend.  And when I want to complain about him, I talk to the gals at work.  Not about anything serious though.  I mean, that person doesn’t exist.  In real life OR the English language.  So if you invent that word to describe the person you really can tell ANYTHING, ANYTIME, and ANYWHERE, would you let me know?  Once I have the word, I may see if I can find the example.

Thanks.  What about you?  Do you have someone like that?

Leave a Reply

www.awriterweavesatale.com/

Author, and Editor of Literary and Arts Magazine, The Woven Tale Press

Questionable Parenting

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

Curiously Strange, Strangely Curious

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

Caffeinated Me

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

Love on Life and Love

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

What have I Done?

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

A Mummy Scorned

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

thesinglecell

That one little thought that catches on... and multiplies.

Daughter, Wife, Mother, . . . Woman

I am a daughter. I am a wife. I am a mother. But through it all, I have been and always will be, a woman.

